top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Participants for Writers Workshop Announced

After reviewing a large amount of applications, CMTWC is pleased to announce the class for the first ever CMTWC Writers Workshop. The class includes 12 of Canada's most promising musical theatre composers and lyricists. They are:

  • Trevor Barker

  • Deanna Choi

  • Trevor Curran

  • Kathryn Knowles

  • Richard Lam

  • JaeMoon Lee

  • Noah MacDougall

  • Colin Simmons

  • Heidi Stock

  • Steven Taetz

  • Allison Wither

  • Angela Wong

To learn more about the participants, please visit our Writers Workshop page by clicking here.

The CMTWC Writers Workshop is Canada’s premier training program for emerging musical theatre writing talent. In this unique course, the only one of its kind in Canada, students will learn the craft of musical theatre songwriting in an intimate and nurturing environment.

With a class size of 12 participants, this exclusive program is open to musical theatre composers, lyricists, and composer-lyricists from across the country.

Students will receive world-class training from renowned Canadian musical theatre legend Leslie Arden and a rotating faculty of other high profile guests.

The workshop meets bi-weekly in Toronto from October 2016 through March 2017 and will culminate in a showcase of work created during the program.

Additional guest faculty will include Canada’s most celebrated musical theatre talent.

  • Neil Bartram (The Theory of Relativity, Broadway's The Story of My Life)

  • David Warrack (Dora Award winning composer, arranger and orchestrator)

  • Jonathan Monro (A History of Summer, Variations on a Nervous Breakdown)

  • Daniel Maté (Kleban and Larson Award winning composer-lyricist)

bottom of page